An Abstract Experiment

Recently in the studio, I’ve felt the desire for play. I take my work seriously and have not allowed myself to experiment with my medium in a long time. Until this week.

I brewed some coffee and laid out 4 canvases on which I wanted to explore new marks. As I built up each panel, I tried my usual mark making mixed with dramatic smears, crisp edges, new colors, and quirky doodles. I even diluted some paint for a translucent, almost watercolor-like effect in some places. The results are distinctively different from my other work, but still show an element of my style.

Here are two of them! (Click images to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

