Return to the Horizon

As I’ve been working in the studio these past couple weeks, I’ve found myself gravitating back to horizon imagery. The sunrise and sunset have always captivated me.

It’s something we see routinely perhaps, but when we take the time to consider it, the scale of the display is astounding. You may know from my statements that the horizon carries a special weight for me as a deist: it’s the representation of the line where the human and the divine meet. While working on some new pieces, I’ve spent some time considering the interplay of those two realms. These new works bare an emotional element and an air of mystery. I’m mixing my abstract marks, and a very obvious horizon line, and so far I’m really enjoying the process. Here are a few new pieces I’ve completed.

Leave a Reply

