Memories of the Chesapeake

Chesapeake Sunrise
“Chesapeake Sunrise”
(Click image to view larger.)

Growing up outside of Baltimore, I frequently went to Annapolis to visit my grandparents’ house on the Chesapeake Bay. I have fond memories of time with family at the water’s edge.

When I set out to create a painting that would honor the vivid memories of early mornings along the docks or out in the waters off Thomas Point, I recalled the smell of the salty air and the soothing sound of waves slapping against the hull of Grandpa’s fishing boat. This is where Grandpa was in his element. He took my brothers and me fishing before dawn, and together we would wait for fish to bite and watch the sunrise from the middle of the bay.

This painting is in honor of my grandparents and the bay that is the backdrop for so many cherished memories.

